Hair Regimen Update

Hair Regimen.png

In the last few months, I’ve been using these products and routine regularly. In 2018, I plan to try new products, so thought I would share what I’ve been doing for the latter half of 2017.

 

Check out my monthly updates to see what I’m up to.
• Detangling
• Strengthening
• Moisturising
• Stretching
• Low Manipulation

Summary
I normally wash my hair once a week, but wash more often if needed. I wash my hair on a Friday or Saturday depending on how my hair has been and what my plans are.
I recently cut my hair to get rid of some of the brown in my hair and heat damage. I blow dry my hair less frequently. The heat damage is from straightening my hair last year, but I wanted to look for alternatives to heat on my hair.
• Detangling: I start by detangling my hair with the OGX Kukui Nut Oil Conditioner and put my hair into chunky twists. I use my spray bottle and comb to remove any shed hair.
• Shampoo with a clarifying shampoo KeraCare 1st Lather Shampoo (every four weeks)
• Shampoo with TGIN Sulfate Free Moisture Rich Shampoo (every two weeks)
• Shampoo with a moisturising shampoo KeraCare Hydrating Detangling Shampoo and KeraCare Natural Textures Cleansing Cream. (weekly)
• After shampooing my hair I deep condition with Soultanicals. Soultanicals Monoi Moisture Deep Conditioning Treatment – Glycerine & Protein Free and Soultanicals Afrotastic Curl Elastic Deep conditioner are really good deep conditioners. I alternate between the moisturising deep conditioner and the protein deep conditioner.
• I put on my Hot Head Deep Conditioning Cap for 30-45 minutes, to help the deep conditioner penetrate my strands.
• I rinse out the conditioner, then use a cotton T-Shirt to absorb the excess oil.
• After that I add my TGIN Green Tea Leave in conditioner, I braid my hair into ten chunky braids.

• I put on my satin scarf and go to sleep.
• In the morning I use TGIN Twist and Define Cream to create chunky twists.
• During the week I wear my hair in a puff, or a braid out for most of the week.

I occasionally apply a few drops of Argan Oil to my scalp.
Daily
• Shower with a shower cap
• Sleep with a satin scarf/ satin bonnet and satin pillowcase at night.

Extras
• Start wash day in the evening and finish in the morning.
• Trim quarterly
• Straightening: Straighten annually. I’m trying not to straighten my hair more than this. I am considering whether or not to straighten my hair at all.

Above all my best advice is learning how to make your fails work for you and turning them into cute styles until you master them.

Do not try something new for the first time for a big event, stick to the rivers and the lakes that you’re use to. If a style leaves you disappointed it can be a big problem when you have somewhere to be. Try these styles before you have somewhere to go. And I’d even suggest trying it twice before a big event to make sure you’ve got the hang of your technique. But if you’re a dare devil then this advice may fall on deaf ears, but good luck with all your hair endeavours!
Disclaimer: This advice is through personal experience and tips I have accumulated from various online sources.

Leave a comment